PassionFord      


Go Back   PassionFord > Ford car Forums listed by Model. > Ford Range > Ford Mondeo
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Ford Mondeo Discuss all things about the Ford Mondeo here!

Welcome to Passion Ford!
Welcome to Passion Ford.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to start new topics, reply to conversations, privately message other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join Passion Ford today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27-09-2007, 06:36 PM   #1
taz010671
Part of the Furniture
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: northumberland
Posts: 158
Default mondeo rear middle seat belt problem

having probs with middle rear seat belt not rolling out,this is the second mondeo I have owned with the same prob is this common and could I replace it with a lap belt so that I don't have this hassle anymore.On my other car I just cut it out for its MOT but I need 3 belts in the back now and its doing my head in
If you were logged in, you wouldn't be seeing this ad!
Register your free account today, or log in if you already have an account.
taz010671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 06:51 PM   #2
dave green
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: bedfordshire
Posts: 4,073
Send a message via ICQ to dave green
Default

common problem. buy a second hand seat from a breaker thats the cheapest way to get it working


Dave
__________________
dave green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 07:24 PM   #3
taz010671
Part of the Furniture
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: northumberland
Posts: 158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave green
common problem. buy a second hand seat from a breaker thats the cheapest way to get it working


Dave
Cheers thanx for that Dave nearly shit myself when was quoted £110 from ford just for the belt alone.Christ only paid 450 for the whole car
taz010671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 07:39 PM   #4
James
PassionFord Post Whore!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: South West
Posts: 5,217
Send a message via MSN to James
Default

if you tip the seat down to thre halfway position you can normally pull the belt out.
__________________
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 08:02 PM   #5
daveselwood
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
daveselwood's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: conwy
Posts: 537
Default rear seat

there is an interlock cable between middle seat belt and the seat hinge lock,unclip it from the seat belt inside the seat and it will work again
daveselwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 08:29 PM   #6
taz010671
Part of the Furniture
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: northumberland
Posts: 158
Default Re: rear seat

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveselwood
there is an interlock cable between middle seat belt and the seat hinge lock,unclip it from the seat belt inside the seat and it will work again
cheers for that I'll give that a go first
taz010671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 09:55 PM   #7
truthordare
Omnomnomnom
 
truthordare's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barnsley
Posts: 1,488
Send a message via MSN to truthordare Send a message via Yahoo to truthordare
Default

I have a Mondeo, the seatbelt won't work unless the seat is fully on the catch and you have to properly slam the seat back onto the second catch to make the seat belt work, the seat catch is in two stages and you need to make sure it's on the 2nd catch. Hope you get it sorted.

Debs
truthordare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 10:00 PM   #8
FIESTA CHRIS H
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
I have a Mondeo, the seatbelt won't work unless the seat is fully on the catch and you have to properly slam the seat back onto the second catch to make the seat belt work, the seat catch is in two stages and you need to make sure it's on the 2nd catch. Hope you get it sorted.
this is true i work in a mot garage and come across this problem quite often (the ford focus is the same iirc) make sure the seat is secure and locked fully and it should work
FIESTA CHRIS H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 10:00 PM   #9
RichieST
15K+ Super Poster!!
 
RichieST's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 15,832
Send a message via MSN to RichieST
Default

if its the mk3 mondeo as the blue one in my sig its very common.


fold the seat down, and give it a FUCKING HARD SLAM upright again.

The belt will only work when the back rest is fully latched into place, if you can see a bit of red in where the button is, then it isnt in properly
__________________
RichieST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 10:05 PM   #10
FIESTA CHRIS H
Too many posts.. I need a life!!
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London
Posts: 814
Default

i believe it is a safety feature to stop the seat belt being used when the back of the seat is'nt secured
FIESTA CHRIS H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2007, 03:26 PM   #11
percybigun
Twistin me melon man
 
percybigun's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cambs UK
Posts: 1,998
Send a message via MSN to percybigun
Default

the release clip is in the black plastic plug at the bottom, if yuo look there is a small square hole. if you put a paper clip into it, it will release the plug out. the seat has to be tilted at this point

the seatbelt should now release from being jammed. then spool out the belt as far as it will go, slam the seat back, and then plug it back in at the bottom.

sometimes takes 2 or 3 goes.

i've had to fix a few of these.

the last one i looked at which was one of the last mk2's made, for some reason, ford had stopped fitting this release mechanism! clever or what.

so i had to put in a 2nd hand seat with release mechanism from a scrappy.

if you cant find a scrappy seat the right colour, it is very very easy to swap the original cloth or leather cover over (and cushions and armrest if necessary)
percybigun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2007, 07:53 PM   #12
taz010671
Part of the Furniture
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: northumberland
Posts: 158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by percybigun
the release clip is in the black plastic plug at the bottom, if yuo look there is a small square hole. if you put a paper clip into it, it will release the plug out. the seat has to be tilted at this point

the seatbelt should now release from being jammed. then spool out the belt as far as it will go, slam the seat back, and then plug it back in at the bottom.

sometimes takes 2 or 3 goes.

i've had to fix a few of these.

the last one i looked at which was one of the last mk2's made, for some reason, ford had stopped fitting this release mechanism! clever or what.

so i had to put in a 2nd hand seat with release mechanism from a scrappy.

if you cant find a scrappy seat the right colour, it is very very easy to swap the original cloth or leather cover over (and cushions and armrest if necessary)
cheers thanx for that will give it ago in the morn
taz010671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2007, 11:23 AM   #13
RichieST
15K+ Super Poster!!
 
RichieST's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 15,832
Send a message via MSN to RichieST
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by taz010671
Quote:
Originally Posted by percybigun
the release clip is in the black plastic plug at the bottom, if yuo look there is a small square hole. if you put a paper clip into it, it will release the plug out. the seat has to be tilted at this point

the seatbelt should now release from being jammed. then spool out the belt as far as it will go, slam the seat back, and then plug it back in at the bottom.

sometimes takes 2 or 3 goes.

i've had to fix a few of these.

the last one i looked at which was one of the last mk2's made, for some reason, ford had stopped fitting this release mechanism! clever or what.

so i had to put in a 2nd hand seat with release mechanism from a scrappy.

if you cant find a scrappy seat the right colour, it is very very easy to swap the original cloth or leather cover over (and cushions and armrest if necessary)
cheers thanx for that will give it ago in the morn
why? try the far simpler suggestions that have been said first
__________________
RichieST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2007, 11:34 AM   #14
taz010671
Part of the Furniture
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: northumberland
Posts: 158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jungleistmassiv
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz010671
Quote:
Originally Posted by percybigun
the release clip is in the black plastic plug at the bottom, if yuo look there is a small square hole. if you put a paper clip into it, it will release the plug out. the seat has to be tilted at this point

the seatbelt should now release from being jammed. then spool out the belt as far as it will go, slam the seat back, and then plug it back in at the bottom.

sometimes takes 2 or 3 goes.

i've had to fix a few of these.

the last one i looked at which was one of the last mk2's made, for some reason, ford had stopped fitting this release mechanism! clever or what.

so i had to put in a 2nd hand seat with release mechanism from a scrappy.

if you cant find a scrappy seat the right colour, it is very very easy to swap the original cloth or leather cover over (and cushions and armrest if necessary)
cheers thanx for that will give it ago in the morn
why? try the far simpler suggestions that have been said first
tried these suggestions but still no luck so will give the plastic plug a try
taz010671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2007, 11:38 AM   #15
steves24V's
Advanced PassionFord User
 
steves24V's's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (7)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Suffolk
Posts: 1,545
Send a message via MSN to steves24V's
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jungleistmassiv
if its the mk3 mondeo as the blue one in my sig its very common.


fold the seat down, and give it a FUCKING HARD SLAM upright again.

The belt will only work when the back rest is fully latched into place, if you can see a bit of red in where the button is, then it isnt in properly
I don't think its a mk 3 as he said he only paid 450 for the who car, i know mondeo's are cheap but i dont think you can get mk 3's for that yet,

But as above have this prob all the time when doing MOTs and they always just need a fucking good slam back and they work never had to replace a belt yet,

It is for safety reasons.
__________________
steves24V's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 01:13 PM   #16
taz010671
Part of the Furniture
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: northumberland
Posts: 158
Default

percybigun
THANX alot for this advice it worked a treat fixed within 2 mins after spending hours the other week trying to fix it wish I knew this when Ihad my last mondeo then I wouldn't have needed to cut the belt out
taz010671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 03:24 PM   #17
percybigun
Twistin me melon man
 
percybigun's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cambs UK
Posts: 1,998
Send a message via MSN to percybigun
Default

did the release clip-hole method work then? its a very simple quick fix innit

i know a few people who have been charged £300 for this at ford, not good when nobody hardly uses the centre seatbelt anyway lol
percybigun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2010, 03:18 PM   #18
knickershack.co.uk
Virgin
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1
Default

Great Advice, My middle belts not been working since last years MOT, due again this year next week & fixed it in 10 seconds flat by slamming the seat back.

Thanks guys
knickershack.co.uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2010, 04:12 PM   #19
dojj
Resident Wrestling Legend

 
dojj's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Little India
Posts: 47,194
Default

there is a cable that goes from the latch to the centre seat belt

so if none of the above work, you simply remove the seat cover and the foam from teh seat and manually realease it

i've got a pic somewhere, but it's on the old computer and this ones new otherwise i would have posted it up to show you whats what
dojj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2012, 08:32 AM   #20
damian78
Virgin
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4
Default

I really wish I'd looked this up before trying to fix mine myself.

Mine had been sticking for ages, but usually thumping the back of the seat a few times would release it. However, this stopped working, so I folded the seat forward, tried all ways (except the right way) to release it, but it just got tighter and tighter to the point I could no longer fold the seat back. So I had to cut it out.

My MoT is due next month so I just ordered a belt from a breakers yard. Was a bit surprised to receive a large heavy parcel this morning - I've heard of over packaging but this was ridiculous. However, it turns out they have sent me the back of the seat with the belt still fitted Unfortunately its a different pattern to my seats otherwise I'd just fit it straight in (it also has an arm rest that mine doesn't). Still tempted to do that though - removing them is going to be a nightmare (particularly as I can't figure out how to get into the seat without cutting the material off - anyone know how to do this?).
damian78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2012, 08:43 AM   #21
dojj
Resident Wrestling Legend

 
dojj's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Little India
Posts: 47,194
Default

it's very easy to do

the material at the back of the seat where it folds into the metal seat back is double folded in with a metal clip to retain it in place

just use a small screw driver and VERY CAREFULLY prise the material out of the metal groove

Click the image to open in full size.

hope this quick pic explains it better

there are loads and loads of these little clips all around the frame so don't lose them and they are bloody sharp!!!!!

you should be able to strip it down so that you can get to the bolts that hold the seat belt mechanism in place fairly easily if you take your time
dojj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2012, 09:13 AM   #22
damian78
Virgin
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4
Default

Excellent, thanks dojj, will give it a go when I get home tonight.

Super drawing by the way
damian78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2012, 10:09 PM   #23
damian78
Virgin
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks again dojj - managed to get to the seat belt as you described.

However, the replacement I got also appeared to be jammed, even without the cable attached, so I decided to take it apart - wished I hadn't when the coil sprung out and swiped me across the face - stung a little.

After a couple of hours and many cuts to my fingers I managed to get it coiled back up, and got the seat belt unjammed, however its not returning very well so might have to do more fiddling before the MoT. It pulls out fine, and jams if I pull hard as its supposed to, but I have to keep pulling it hard before the spring seems to activate and pulls it back in a little, I then have to keep doing that until its almost fully rewound. I think I made a mistake taking it apart to be honest.
damian78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2012, 09:46 PM   #24
damian78
Virgin
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Leicester
Posts: 4
Default

Took the seatbelt apart again yesterday to try and figure out why it wasn't springing back. Tried all sorts - Lithium Grease, wd40, even tried cooking the coil (it didn't seem to have any tension in it, so on my Dads advice I wound it up and held it over the hob to heat it up and "reset" it, then dipped it in cold water). Seemed to work a bit but not enough, then it snapped, so I gave up

Today I managed to pick up another one for £5 (though had to remove it myself from a car that was buried under another car ), fitted it in 10 minutes and now working like a dream

I think I'll stick to building websites. I wanted to be a mechanic when I was at school - probably a good job I didn't
damian78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2012, 09:49 AM   #25
Leedude7
Mondeo Mk3 2L TDCI
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Notts
Posts: 1
Default Seat belt probs...

Just wanted to say thanks to all you guys. My rear middle belt wasn't working and i thought i had to visit scrappers until i read all your posts and you've saved me a lot of cash! Thank god for these sites and the kind people who share info!!!
Again Thanks and i know i'll be back for more help off you : )
Lee
Leedude7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2012, 09:49 AM
PassionFord
Ford Focus




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
belt, car, catch, fix, focus, ford, jams, locked, middle, mondeo, rear, release, replace, seat, seatbelt

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Advertising - Terms of Service - Privacy Statement - JOBS



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:01 AM.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2