Ford Focus Range This Section Contains All The Ford Focus Model Specific Forums.

few focus questions...

Search this Thread

Old 24-11-2011, 10:10 PM
gti power
Virgin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default few focus questions...

Hi im new to ford's if im honest so please forgive my question's if seem a little obvious.
Im in a dilema at the ideally i need a economical car doing 70mile a day to work and back,always like the mk1 focus trouble is i love turbo car's and i have looked at the engine option's offered from the focus and have been told the st170 is not that quick so not yet had a focus.

Ideally id be looking at a nice 3 door hatchback,looking on other forums have noticed a few 1.8 turbo's just wondering how difficult it is to turbo the focus? i mean what turbo do you use? stock internal with low boost? what is the manifold,a custom? then there is also the management?

That a side im defeating the object really as i need economical yet a eliable car,im a technician by trade so i dont mind getting my hand's dirty.
Discovered the other day for do what i can only find in 5 door? a factory lpg option,how reliable is the car? do they suffer with burnt out valve's etc?

Obviously a diesel would be a good option however i think long term you have a set of injector's fail,a turbo,dual mass flywheel or a egr then it wipes out the money saved on fuel.

Any info on the focus would be great please,common fault's,rust issues even owner's mpg/fuel consumption figures please.
Old 24-11-2011, 10:28 PM
hogdog
Regular Contributor

That's alot of questions!

If you're looking for an economical and fast car then the ST170 is neither.

Turbo charging is going to cost in excess of £5k, add the cost of the car in and you may as well have bought an RS...oddly they can be more economical than the ST170 if driven sensibly.