Ford Fiesta This forum is for discussion of all things pertaining to the Ford Fiesta Range of cars.

Fiesta Overheating Advice needed Please

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2013, 12:31 AM
Kyle Gowland
Virgin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fiesta Overheating Advice needed Please

Hi
I have a Fiesta 1.4 56 Plate Zetec mk6 Petrol which developed an overheating problem.
I have changed the cylinder head gasket and had the head skimmed and pressure tested at the same time.
I also checked the water pump impeller as I replaced the timing belt at the same time.
I rebuilt the car and it ran fine for about a week or so and its overheated again. and I have no idea why its used water but there is no external leaks and its not gone into the oil and also doesnt seem to be buring off as the car is running great.

Is there anything common with these models of fiesta that i may have overlooked. Can anyone point me in a direction.

Im not a mechanic as such but ive stripped and rebuilt engines for years so I have a good idea what im looking at I just need some guidance here. Anythiung will be appreciated.
Old 02-10-2013, 09:23 PM
gjh
10K+ Poster!!

Received 347 Likes on 320 Posts

You seemed to have checked all the basics, were they all ok (get a feeling they were)? Have you checked the thermostat? And are you sure there isn't a blockage anywhere? Does your heater blow hot or only cold? Have you had a compression test done?
Old 02-10-2013, 09:31 PM
Kyle Gowland
Virgin

The only thing I found when I stripped it down was the cylinder head face was in poor condition. I took it to my local engine services who said the face was a mile out before he skimmed it. I put the over heating problems down to this.

Both the top hose and bottom hose are getting warm which tells me the thermostat is working ok and water is circulating. Unless you can advise me differently?
Old 02-10-2013, 09:37 PM
GVK.
PassionFord Post Whore!!

Received 115 Likes on 108 Posts

Does the fan cut in?