Fitness / Weight Training Discussions Don't drive around with 4 chins! Chat to like minded folk in here and get yourself back to a decent health and fitness level in no time.

new year,new me. hopefully!!!

Old 02-01-2013, 09:01 PM
fordsportjay
PassionFord Post Whore!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new year,new me. hopefully!!!

i know this is going to be hard but i need some encouragement to kick me off.

im 42,5 ft 10 ish,thickish set and prob somewhere in the region of 19stone.
ive carried this weight around for many years and not really got heavier although i can see physical changes as im getting older.
i work as a mechanic in a fairly busy garage so im active for 8 hours a day although over the last year or so ive been aching a lot in my joints-especially wrists,elbows and knees.i feel much weaker than i used to be.
when i was much younger (13-19) i was a very good sprinter,rugby player and worked out a lot in the gym-up to about 24 y/old.

i dont work out and once ive sat down at home my joints are killing me!
i feel very lethargic most of the time out of work.
i walk to work but its only a 10 min walk and walk the dogs sometimes.
i bought a bike last year and used it quite lot and felt reasonably ok on it and even went for a ride in the forest nearby for an hour.i can also on occasion when i want to walk for 2 hours with the dogs.because of these things and the fact i work i dont think im as unfit as i think i am but am really struggling to get motivated to kick start a change in lifestyle.
i havent smoked for 8 years and dont drink a lot.my issue is food-i dont really plan my food which normally ends up buying a pie or 2 at dinner,or a takeaway in the evening.dont always have breakfast.i do snack a lot as well but not always.
does anyone have any ideas to help me kickstart this?
my mrs puts me to shame as she works out 4/5 times a week and my little girl even does zumba and horse riding! just dont want to drop dead at an early age and leave them!!!!